Outreachy '22: Everybody struggles

Outreachy '22: Everybody struggles

ยท

2 min read

It's my fourth week already, yay๐Ÿ˜…. If you're new here, welcome to my second blog on my internship experience at Outreachy working with the Common Workflow Language(CWL).

To be honest, the ride hasn't been the smoothest I've ever had. Expanding the Common Workflow Language user guide is the project I'm working on. I'm a JavaScript babe, and getting into this new workflow language, which makes use of Python and YAML, has been a little strange. Plus, I felt insecure since my CWL learning curve hasn't been as bland as I thought it would be.

One of the most common terms in CWL is "workflow." It may be because that is what the W in CWL means ๐Ÿ˜‚.

In simple terms, a workflow is a group of tasks that process a set of data along a specific path from start to finish. In CWL, a workflow is an orchestrator of tools and data flow; it accepts inputs, does some processing, and produces outputs.

You can find more on CWL here

Last week and the week before, I went through a phase of doubt, fear, and anxiety. I doubted if I was the one who contributed to the project because I felt I couldn't handle the internship task, which made me afraid that I won't be able to complete my tasks in time. Fortunately, I spoke with my mentor and we found a better way to manage my tasks.

I still get a little afraid when I have a task to do but I overcome this fear by starting. And when I start, most of the time I realize the task is not as difficult as I thought.

Yes, everybody struggles, but I've found a way to struggle in a better way, which is by facing the issue at hand despite the fear I feel.

ย