Introducing Myself: Outreachy '22

Who am I?

Very simple yet difficult question to answer. I'll just tell you what I usually tell others. I am Ngumih Fien, a software developer with the MERN stack and a UX Designer. When I'm not coding, I am either designing, attending a tech event or giving a talk (I could be talking to myself or to others). I am Outreachy intern with the Common Workflow Language.

My core values

My core values are discipline, honesty and gratitude.

Discipline has been a really difficult value to develop. Over the past few months, I've set strict rules; started reading at least 10 pages of a self-development book a day, not waking up after 5:00am, restricting myself from some social activities and a few other things. These rules have helped perform better and they helped me get Outreachy too, since contributing to the CWL organization almost every day of the contribution period was a discipline I had to establish.

Honesty is a bittersweet value. This value changed the way I view life and circumstances I face. I learnt to say the truth about how I feel towards people, and anything that happens to me. I felt at peace with myself, and I still do.

Gratitude is my favourite core value. Knowing that every day is a gift and every circumstance, whether good or bad is a blessing, keeps me going. No matter how bad things get, I am always grateful and look forward to things getting better.

Why did I apply to Outreachy?

Hearing about this open source promoting internship opportunity piqued my interest. I applied during the first phase this year but didn't make it through the contribution phase. The pressure I went through during the contribution phase was enough reason for me to never apply again, but I did apply again. How I did it was, I polished my GitHub skills, making sure I understood version control and focused on web development with the MERN stack. This way, I learned a ton of useful stuff while waiting for the next phase of the internship.