Modifying Expectations

Β·

2 min read

Hello there πŸ‘‹, you are welcome. The content of this blog is me explaining to you what I've achieved so far with my internship.

Firstly, I encountered a lot of bumps on this ride. I saw them coming but didn't think they would be that bad πŸ˜‚. No, it wasn't anyone's fault but I guess sometimes you have to go through difficult moments to learn how to manage such moments in the future.

My goals for this first half were to get familiar with the Common Workflow Language(CWL) and to have solved a good number of issues on the user guide repository. Well, things didn't go exactly go as I planned. My machine gave me a really hard time setting up the environment which made me stuck at some point in time. I had these two issues to work on; one was technical and the other was not so technical. To be honest, I didn't expect the issues to take so long for me to resolve but they did. It wasn't the happiest feeling but πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ (I had to deal with it)

I successfully completed the issues, well I have some finishing touches to make on one(Hopefully I'll be done with it in a few hours). I did some other stuff like learning about URL rewriting in the Apache HTTP server with the help of the mod_rewrite module and opening a pull request where I rewrote a few URLs which got merged(a little winπŸ˜…).

My goal for the next half of the internship is to work on a translation project which involves translating the user guide we're improving. I anxiously look forward to this one, hoping that it doesn't turn out like the first half(I'll make sure it doesn't😁)

I guess that's all for today. Surprisingly, I enjoyed writing this blog. Thank you so much for reading till the end.

Β